This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Manage Profile | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
The Academy Awards

Award Nominations are now Closed!

The "Academy Awards” is the distinguished awards program in the Human Resource Development profession that is sponsored by the Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). These awards are for scholarly professionals who have made significant contributions to the vision of leading the profession through research.

The Board presents all the Awards at the annual AHRD International Research Conference in the Americas.

Awards Information & Deadline Date

  • All nominations are to be submitted through the website for the award and not via email to the office.
  • Given the high standards implicit in these awards, there is no guarantee that these awards will be given each year.
  • Nomination Deadline: Wednesday, November 6 at 5:00pm Central time. There will be no extensions on the submission deadline this year.
  • Award Decisions to the Office: All awards winners are due back to by Monday – January 6, 2020 at 5:00pm Central time.
  • View Awards Policy

Click on award names below for more detailed descriptions of each award, how to contact the chairs, and lists of previous award winners.

The Laura Bierema award

The Laura Bierema Excellence in Critical HRD Award

Honors a critical HRD scholar or practitioner who has demonstrated research and activism with impact in HRD.

Chair - Tonette Rocco

HR Development cutting edge

Human Resource Development Cutting Edge Award

Awarded to the ten outstanding scholarly papers from those published in the AHRD Conference Proceedings in the same year.

Chair - Sarah Minnis

Excellence in scholarly practice

AHRD Excellence in Scholarly Practice Awards

The awards are given for excellence in applying scholarly HRD theory and research to practice in a manner that brings measurable improvement to an organization and/or has the potential to advance the field of HRD.

Chair - Jason Moats

esworthy malcolm s. knowles award

Esworthy Malcolm S. Knowles Dissertation of the Year Award

Awarded for the outstanding HRD doctoral dissertation in a given year.

Co-Chairs - Sehoon Kim and Tomika Greer

advances in developing human resources outstanding issue

Advances in Developing Human Resources Outstanding Issue Award

Awarded for the outstanding issue among the ending year's volume.

Chair - Marilyn Y. Byrd
Co-chair - Alina M. Waite

monica m. lee research

Monica M. Lee Research Excellence Award

Awarded for the outstanding Human Resource Development International article in each annual volume.

Chair - Jessica Li

early career scholar

Early Career Scholar Award

Awarded to an outstanding HRD scholar in the early stages of his/her career who has made identifiable and significant contributions in scholarly research to the field of HRD.

Chair - Mesut Akdere

r.wayne pace hrd book of the year

R. Wayne Pace HRD Book of the Year

Awarded for the outstanding HRD book that advances the theory and/or practice of the profession.

Chair - Joshua C. Collins

Elwood F. holton III award

Elwood F. Holton III Research Excellence Award

Awarded for the outstanding Human Resource Development Review refereed article in each annual volume.

Chair - Jia Wang

Rchard A. Swanson award

Richard A. Swanson Research Excellence Award

Awarded for the outstanding Human Resource Development Quarterly refereed article in each annual volume.

Chair - Tom Reio

HRD scholar hall of fame award

HRD Scholar Hall of Fame

Presented to scholars in human resource development and related disciplines who have made enduring contributions to the Academy’s vision of leading the human resource development profession through research.

Chair - Julie Gedro

OUtstanding hrd scholar award

Outstanding HRD Scholar Award

The Outstanding HRD Scholar Award (formerly the HRD Scholar of the Year Award) is presented to an outstanding human resource development scholar who has demonstrated a continuing record of scholarly productivity and influence in the profession.

Chair - AAhad M. Osman-Gani

Outstanding HRD Academic Program Award

    This award became inactive with the formation of the AHRD Program Excellence Network (PEN) in 2007. One of the PEN's objectives is to develop a new way of recognizing academic excellence.

Academy of Human Resource Development

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 USA
Phone: 1+(651)290-7466 • Email:
© 2020 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). All rights reserved.