This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Manage Profile | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
AHRD Service Award

The AHRD Service Award is given to AHRD members in recognition of their lifetime achievement in advancing HRD through research combined with their service to AHRD as demonstrated through their time, energy and support. Recipients of this Award are recognized at the AHRD International Conference in the Americas, receive a plaque and a place of honor on the AHRD website, and receive complimentary AHRD membership and conference admission for the year they receive the award.

Submit the Form Now!

Chair: Darren Short

Submission Due Date: Wednesday, November 6 at 5:00pm Central time. There will be no extensions on the submission deadline this year.

Award Decisions to the Office: All awards winners are due back to by Monday – January 6, 2020 at 5:00pm Central time.

Award Criteria

The panel can select no more than three winners each year. When determining the winners, the panel places emphasis on selecting individuals who:

  • Have a well-respected and well-recognized track record in HRD research and/or in the implementation of HRD research in practice
  • Have been active members of AHRD for many years
  • Have served AHRD through its committees, SIGs, conference processes, and other volunteer opportunities
  • Have a lifelong record of achievement in HRD that, while impressive, has not been widely recognized through other AHRD awards

Nomination and Review Process

The AHRD Service Award winners are determined through the following nomination and selection process:

  • Any member may nominate another existing member or past member for the Award.
  • Nomination consists of writing a statement of no more than 1000 words that explains why the nominated individual should be recognized.
  • Individuals may not self-nominate.
  • Nominations may be made posthumously, but only within twelve months of the passing of a member. There is no limit to the number of posthumous awards that can be granted each year.
  • All nominations are reviewed by a panel consisting of the current AHRD President, the immediate past-president, the president-elect, and the VPs of Membership and of Research. The panel is chaired by the AHRD President.

Award Winners


No Award Given


No Award Given


  • Paul Roberts, The University of Texas at Tyler


  • Gene Roth, Northern Illinois University


  • Neal Chalofsky, The George Washington University


  • R. Wayne Pace

2010 - Full Award Details

  • Dr. John W. Bing
  • Dr. Robert (Lex) Dilworth
  • Dr. Sharon Gibson

« Back to the Awards Page


I have read the Privacy Policy and grant consent to use my data.

Academy of Human Resource Development

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 USA
Phone: 1+(651)290-7466 • Email:
© 2020 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). All rights reserved.