This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Manage Profile | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Early Career Scholar Award

The Early Career Scholar Award is awarded to an outstanding HRD scholar in the early stages of his/her career who has made identifiable and significant contributions in scholarly research to the field of HRD.

Any current member of the Academy of Human Resource Development who is in the early stages of his or her career in human resource development, i.e., seven years or less after being granted his or her highest earned academic degree, is eligible to receive this award. The setting in which the nominee has made the scholarly contributions can include academia, government, nonprofit, or business/industry.

Chair: Kim Nimon

Submission Due Date: Wednesday, November 11 at 5:00pm Central time. There will be no extensions on the submission deadline this year.

Award Decisions to the Office: All awards winners are due back to by Monday – January 13, 2021 at 5:00pm Central time.

Award Criteria

Significance of Work – 40% weighting

Significant scholarly contributions can take the form of conceptual, theoretical, or empirical developments that have had or have shown the potential to have substantial influence on HRD knowledge and practice. You may wish to include bibliometric data here from sources such as Google Scholar, SSCI citations etc. to support your application – but this is not essential. Applications should therefore strive to address the following questions:

  • To what extent do the scholarly contributions made by the applicant address an important problem, process, or issue in the science or practice of HRD?
  • How does the work advance scientific or practical knowledge about the problem, process, or issue?
  • What has been the effect of the applicant’s work on the theories, concepts, processes, or techniques that drive the profession of HRD?
  • To what extent has or what is the likelihood that the applicant’s work will stimulate further inquiry or give direction to future research that leads to important, new knowledge in HRD?

Productivity – 25% weighting

Productivity includes not only the number of scholarly contributions (e.g., publications) but also the quality of those contributions. Applications should therefore strive to address the following questions:

  • To what extent has the applicant been productive in terms of both quantity and quality of scholarly contributions?
  • What awards or honors granted by professional organizations, educational institutions, media sources, or other entities has the applicant received that demonstrate the importance of the scholarly contributions to the profession of HRD?

Innovativeness – 25% weighting

The innovativeness of scholarly contributions is often critical for advancing the science and practice of the HRD profession. Therefore, applications should endeavor to address the following questions:

  • To what extent does the work of the applicant represent or employ novel theories, concepts, approaches, or methods?
  • Does the work challenge existing paradigms or develop new theories, models, conceptual frameworks, methods, or approaches?
  • Have the scholarly contributions of the applicant led to the adoption of new theories, models, concepts, practices, or services?

Service – 10% weighting

Candidates are expected to contribute to the development of a scholarly research culture within the AHRD through taking on research leadership roles and participating in journal and conference related activities. Applicants should strive to address the following questions:

  • To what extent does the applicant take on leadership roles in the AHRD – through chairing SIGS, special committees, task forces or AHRD board membership?
  • To what extent does the applicant participate in editorial board activities or reviewing activities of AHRD journals?
  • To what extent does the applicant participate in reviewing, track chairing or editing at AHRD conferences?

Within this category, you may wish to include Masters and PhD dissertation supervision and advising – although the committee is mindful that not all applicants will have the opportunity to participate in such activities and recognises that not all universities and faculties have established Masters and/or doctoral programs.

Additional Eligibility Criteria: Candidates are eligible to apply for this award on three occasions only.

Nomination Process

Only members of the Academy can submit nominations. Self-nominations are welcome. Applications must be received on or before November 3 of the year preceding the presentation of the award. The Early Career Scholar Award Committee will not accept any application that is incomplete. To be complete, applications must include:

  1. A letter of nomination that includes:
    • Nominee information including name, job title/organization, address, city/state/zip, telephone number, and email address.
    • The nominator’s job title/organization, address, city/state/zip, telephone number, and email address.
    • A statement of worthiness of the nominee that specifically addresses the criteria listed below. The letter should be at least two but no more than five pages long.
  2. A current vita of the nominee.
  3. 3. A portfolio of materials that illustrate the contributions of the nominee. The portfolio should contain up to but not more than three reprints representative of the nominee’s scholarly contribution. The portfolio may also include up to but no more than three supporting letters that speak to the quality of work of the nominee and the degree to which that work is held in high esteem by the nominee’s peers.

Award Winers


  • Chair Mesut Akdere, Sunyoung Park, Louisiana State University


  • Joshua C. Collins, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities


No award was given in 2016.


  • Rajashi Ghosh, Drexel University
  • Brad Shuck, University of Louisville


  • Ji Hoon Song, University of North Texas


  • Kim Nimon, University of North Texas


  • Mesut Akdere, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee


  • Jia Wang, Texas A&M University
  • Holly Hutchins, University of Houston


  • Julia Storberg-Walker, North Carolina State University


  • Thomas J. Chermack, Colorado State University


  • Toby Marshall Egan, Texas A&M University


  • David McGuire, Queen Margaret University


  • Susan R. Madsen, Utah Valley State College


  • Jamie Callahan, Texas A&M University


  • Wendy E. A. Ruona, University of Georgia

« Back to the Awards Page

I have read the Privacy Policy and grant consent to use my data.

Academy of Human Resource Development

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 USA
Phone: 1+(651)290-7466 • Email:
© 2020 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). All rights reserved.