This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Manage Profile | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2018 AHRD Award Winners

Cutting Edge Awards

  • Sunyoung Park, Committee Chair

A Pedagogical Approach for Addressing Racism and Building a Foundation for Human Relations in the Workplace
Marilyn Y. Byrd, University of Oklahoma

Compassionate Leader Behavior: An Emerging Framework for Consideration in HRD
Brad Shuck, University of Louisville
Meera Alagaraja, University of Louisville
Jason Immekus, University of Louisville
Maryanne Elliott, George Washington University
Denise M. Cumberland, University of Louisville

The Multi-Level Effects of HR Practices and Paternalistic Leadership on Organizational Commitment
Dae Seok Chai, Colorado State University
Shinhee Jeong, Louisiana State University
Baek-kyoo Joo, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Impacts of the Leader-Member Exchange (LMX) Quality on Employees’ Outcomes
Jiwon Park, Korea University

Reliability Generalization of Transfer of Training
Junhee Kim, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Hyeon-Jin Kim, Nuclear Training and Education Center
Youngsup Hyun, Kyungpook National University

Examining the Impact of Psychological Safety on Transformative Learning in the Workplace
Chang-kyu Kwon, University of Georgia
Seung-hyun Han, University of Georgia
Aliki Nicolaides, University of Georgia

Esworthy Malcolm S. Knowles Dissertation of the Year

  • Tomika W. Greer and Sehoon Kim, Committee Co-Chairs

Moonju Sung, University of Georgia
Dissertation Title:  Antecedents of Job Engagement: The Mediating Role of Psychological States
Dissertation Advisor: Wendy Ruona

First Runner-Up:  William S. Carrell, University of Texas at Tyler
Dissertation Title:  Examining the Mediating Influence of Occupational Self-Efficacy and Perceived Organizational Support on the Relationship between Perceived Managerial Coaching Behaviors and Employee Engagement Among Higher Education Enrollment Management Professionals
Dissertation Advisor: Andrea Ellinger

Winner: Malikah Abdullah Alturki, The George Washington University
Dissertation Title: The Entrepreneurial Learning Processes of Saudi Women Entrepreneurs: A Grounded Theory Study
Dissertation Advisor: Maria Cseh

R. Wayne Pace HRD Book of the Year Award

  • Joshua C. Collins, Committee Chair

Leadership and Power in International Development: Navigating the Intersections of Gender, Culture, Context, and Sustainability
Randal Joy Thompson, Dream Connect Global
Julia Storberg-Walker, The George Washington University

Richard A. Swanson Research Excellence Award (HRDQ)

  • Thomas Reio, Committee Chair

What Imposters Risk at Work: Exploring Imposter Phenomenon, Stress Coping, and Job Outcomes – Volume 29, Issue 1
Holly M. Hutchins, University of Houston
Lisa M. Penney, University of South Florida
Lisa W. Sublett, University of Houston–Clear Lake

Elwood F. Holton III Research Excellence Award (HRDR)

  • Jia Wang, Committee Chair

Conceptualizing and Creating Sustainable Careers – Volume 17, Issue 4
Kimberly S. McDonald, Purdue University Fort Wayne
Linda M. Hite, Purdue University Fort Wayne

The Psychology of Diversity Resistance and Integration – Volume 17, Issue 2
Christine A. Wiggins-Romesburg, University of Louisville
Rod P. Githens, University of the Pacific

Human Resource Development Review 2018 Best Reviewer of the Year

Valerie Anderson, University of Portsmouth, UK

Monica M. Lee Research Excellence Award (HRDI)

  • Jessica Li, Committee Chair

Advancing National Human Resource Development Research: Suggestions for Multilevel Investigations – Volume 22, Issue 4
Thomas Garavan, Edinburgh Napier University
Jia Wang, Texas A&M University
Gerri Matthews-Smith, Edinburgh Napier University
Bharani Nagarathnam, Texas A&M University
Yanqing Lai, Edinburgh Napier University

Advances in Developing Human Resources Outstanding Issue Award

  • Marilyn Y. Byrd, Committee Chair

Engaging Employees at Work: Insights from India – Volume 20, Issue 1

Issue Editor:
Manish Gupta, IBS Hyderabad, IFHE University

Early Career Scholar Award

  • Mesut Akdere, Committee Chair

Sunyoung Park, Louisiana State University

Laura Bierema Excellence in Critical HRD Award

  • Tonette Rocco, Committee Chair

Kimberly Osborne, Independent Scholar

Outstanding HRD Scholar Award

  • AAhad Osman-Gani, Committee Chair

Monica Lee

Journal Editors Service Recognition

Michael P. Leimbach, Advances in Developing Human Resources
Carole Elliott, Human Resource Development International
Valerie Anderson, Human Resource Development Quarterly
Kim Nimon, Human Resource Development Quarterly
John Werner, Human Resource Development Quarterly

AHRD Foundation Grants

Jihye Oh, Texas A&M University
Melika Shirmohammadi, Texas A&M University
Shinhee Jeong, Texas A&M University

Academy of Human Resource Development

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 USA
Phone: 1+(651)290-7466 • Email:
© 2020 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). All rights reserved.