This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Manage Profile | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2017 AHRD Award Winners

Cutting Edge Awards

  • Chair: Robert Yawson

Identifying Latent Profiles in Work-to-Family Conflict and Family-to-Work Conflict
Yunsoo Lee, The Pennsylvania State University

Human Resource Development’s Perspective and Role in Technological Impact on Employment, Job Outlook, Work Structure, and Employees’ Continuous Development
Szufang Chuang, Indiana State University
Carroll Graham, Indiana State University

The Effects of Person-Organization Fit and Personal Growth Initiatives on Employees’ Career Satisfaction and Subjective Well-being
Baek-Kyoo Joo, Georgia Southwestern State University
Young Sim Jin, Hanyang University, Korea

Motivational Mediation Process and Moderating Effect of Career Planning on Training Transfer
Yoonhee Park, Korea University of Technology and Education
Doo Hun Lim, University of Oklahoma
Jaeeun Lee, Konkuk University, Korea

Organizational Support on Knowledge Sharing: A Moderated Mediation Model of Job Characteristics and Organization Citizenship Behavior
Boyung Suh, University of Georgia
Beixi Li, University of Georgia
Chuungil Chae, The Pennsylvania State University
Seung-hyun Han, University of Georgia

Knowledge Creation Practices of Teachers in South Korea and the United States: A Multigroup Structural Equation Modeling Analysis
Sangok Yoo, University of Minnesota
Shinhee Jeong, Texas A&M University
Ji HoonSong, Hanyang University, Korea
Sanghoon Bae, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea

The impact of team-based learning on team effectiveness and individual learning in flipped classrooms
Chung-Kai Huang, National Taipei University of Business
Chun-Yu Lin, National Taipei University
Zih-Cin Lin, Foxlink Image Technology
Cui Wang, National Taipei University

Workaholics, Addiction, and Motivation: A Critical Review and Implications for HRD
Sehoon Kim, University of Minnesota

Esworthy Malcolm S. Knowles Dissertation of the Year

  • Co-Chairs: Sewon Kim and Brad Shuck

Second Runner-Up: Ramona Teresa Sharpe, Columbia University
Dissertation Title:  Cultural Intelligence and Self-Directed Learning in the Lives of Leaders an Exploratory Sequential Mixed Methods Research Study
Dissertation Advisor: Victoria J. Marsick

First Runner-Up:  Cyntianna C. Ledesma Ortega, Florida International University
Dissertation Title:  An Exploration of Workplace Interventions for Women with Postpartum Depression Symptoms
Dissertation Advisor: Thomas G. Reio, Jr.

Winner:  Ben LeVan,  The University of Texas at Tyler
Dissertation Title: Examining the Relationships Between Performance Appraisal Reactions and Employee Engagement
Dissertation Advisor: Jerry W. Gilley

R. Wayne Pace HRD Book of the Year Award

  • Chair: Joshua C. Collins

“Leadership Development in Emerging Market Economies”
Alexandre Ardichvili, University of Minnesota
Khalil M. Dirani, Texas A & M University

Richard A. Swanson Research Excellence Award

  • Chair: Jon Werner

“Towards an Understanding of HRD Lean Strategy Linkages: A Multicase Study of Four U.S. Based Firms” – Vol 28(4), 553-592.
Meera Alagaraja, University of Louisville
Toby Marshall Egan, University of Maryland
Richard W. Woodman, Texas A&M University

Elwood F. Holton III Research Excellence Award

  • Chair: Jia Wang

“Pragmatism and Human Resource Development: Practical Foundations for Research, Theory, and Practice”
Russell Korte, The George Washington University
Zachary A. Mercurio, Colorado State University

Published in Volume 16, Issue 1, 2017, pp. 60-84

HRDR 2017 Best Reviewer of the Year

  • Chair: Jia Wang

Maria Cseh, The George Washington University
Bob Hamlin, University of Wolverhampton Business School
Gary McLean, McLean Global Consulting

Monica M. Lee Research Excellence Award

  • Chair: Carole Elliot

“Supporting Staff through Stressful Organizational Change” HRDI, Vol. 20 (4)
Roy K. Smollan, Aut Business School, Auckland University Of Technology

ADHR Outstanding Issue Award

  • Chair: Marilyn Byrd

Leveraging Research to Advance Undergraduate HRD Education
Guest Editors : Tomika W. Greer, University of Houston
Joshua C. Collins, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
May 2017 Volume 19, Issue 2

Early Career Scholar

  • Chair: Jia Wang

Joshua C. Collins, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Laura Bierema Excellence in Critical HRD Award

  • Chair: Joshua Collins

Julia Storberg-Walker, The George Washington University

Outstanding HRD Scholar Award

  • Chair: AAhad Osman-Gani

Tonette S. Rocco, Florida International University 

Hall of Fame – 2018

  • Wendy Ruona

Victoria J. Marsick, Teachers College, Columbia University


Academy of Human Resource Development

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 USA
Phone: 1+(651)290-7466 • Email:
© 2020 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). All rights reserved.